TEXTING AND DRIVING IN THE CAROLINAS

TEXTING AND DRIVING IN THE CAROLINAS – KNOW THE LAW

Did you know that 3,328 people were killed in car accidents involving a distracted driver, and an estimated 421,000 were injured in 2012 alone?

From eating a hamburger to applying lipstick, drivers engage in many activities that distract their attention from the road. None, however, are considered as dangerous as texting while driving. Why? In order to send a text message, a driver must be engaged visually, physically and cognitively with his phone. Each time you look down at your phone, you take your eyes and attention off the road for an average of 5 seconds. Five seconds may not sound like a lot, but at 55pmh, it’s enough time to travel the length of a football field.

It comes as little surprise then that transportation authorities across the country have begun to recognize the serious safety risks posed by texting while driving. As of January 2015, texting while driving is illegal in 44 states, including South Carolina and North Carolina.

If you are a South or North Carolina driver, it’s important that you know the laws concerning texting while driving in your state. Here are the basics:

South Carolina

South Carolina’s texting while driving ban officially went into effect in December of 2014.

· South Carolina’s texting law is “primary” which means that a police officer can pull you over for texting without witnessing any other driving violation.

· A driver can be given a ticket for text messaging, emailing, or instant messaging while driving.

· The first violation will incur a fine of $25. Subsequent violations will incur fines of $50.

· Drivers will not be assessed penalty points on their license for a texting while driving violation.

· To view the complete text of the South Carolina State Legislature’s ban on texting, click here.

North Carolina

North Carolina’s texting while driving ban has been in effect since 2009.

· North Carolina’s texting law is “primary” which means that a police officer can pull you over for texting without witnessing any other driving violation.

· A driver can be given a ticket for writing or reading text messages or emails while driving.

· A violation will incur a fine of $100.

· Drivers will not be assessed penalty points on their license for a texting while driving violation.

· To view the complete text of the North Carolina State Legislature’s ban on texting, click here.

The next time you get behind the wheel remember that texting while driving is not only dangerous, but also illegal in the Carolinas. Think twice before you pick up that phone and potentially endanger your life and the lives of those sharing the road with you. It can wait.

If you or someone you love has been seriously injured or killed by a distracted driver, the experienced team of personal injury attorneys at Lewis Law may be able to help. Contact us for a free consultation today.

Disclaimer: The information provided on this site is not intended to provide legal advice. You should consult an attorney for your particular situation. If you would like to speak with one of the experienced attorneys at Lewis Law Firm, please contact us for a free consultation.

2018-05-26T11:44:16+00:00Car Accidents|